Home Tour Friday – Playing Catch Up…

A few weeks ago, I wrote about a sticky note I had “received” from the Lord. As a result, I have cleaned the entire house, up and down, I have also done a deep cleaning within. More on the inner deep clean later. But for now, I am going to participate in the Home Tour done by Kelly’s Korner and show you around the house, I had to do most of the house all at once and play catch up so, come on in.  Enjoy the tour!house_Page_5

We did some cleaning outside. Since we don’t have a private yard, I wanted to create a place for us to enjoy as a family. There is nothing a little soap and a hose cannot fix, right? This is where the cleaning madness started. Isaac’s grandpa hung the swing, I purchased a little rubber maid box and keep Isaac’s outdoor toys in it, just under the grill and there is a fabulous folding chair that I can occupy, while I read and push Isaac in his swing. It’s perfect!

 house_Page_0

Just off the front entry is our living room/dining room. We re-arranged the furniture in the living room, created an entertainment center out of some “previously used” white shelves we had around the house, re-applied a quote “The most wasted of all days is one without Laughter” and “refreshed” the picture frames around the room with new pictures. (By the way – Isaac’s name means laughter. We had that quote before he was born… crazy uh?)

house_Page_1

The dining room and living room are connected so we only did really minor changes with the dining room. My grandmother is a water color artist so I matted and framed some of her art and hung it as a collection.  As you can see, the kitchen is a “multi-functional” space. Since my husband does most of the cooking, I normally do the dishes and clean up. So, I cleaned everything, re-arranged some cabinets and even found something cute in the sink.

house_Page_8

We have created a little play room for Isaac in the coat closet just off the kitchen. He loves it. All of his toys are in there and I love being able to hear him playing from anywhere in the house.

house_Page_3

Upstairs was where most of the “work” happened. The furniture in Isaac’s room was re-arranged, I created a little “couch” in the corner, right by his crib and of course I cleaned everything! Isaac loves to watch TV in the morning from his crib or his “couch” while I get ready for work.

house_Page_4

Isaac has a huge bathroom attached to his room, along with a great closet.  I love the rubber ducky theme and had to go with it for the bathroom. This is another one of those places that Isaac can spend a long time just playing and laughing. He loves bath time. The pictures are a hand painted gift from a sweet friend, I treasure them and think they totally make the bathroom just perfect.

house_Page_7

The loft was a total re-do. We use to have a desk and computer in there, but since we have wireless in the house and a laptop the room hardly ever got used. I had the comfortable chair in which I spend time with the Lord in the mornings and the futon makes for an optional guest room if we ever need it. You will notice that Isaac has toys upstairs too, the hope is that as he gets bigger and as we add to our family, this room can become a second playroom. So technically it is our home office, reading room, guest room and play room.

house_Page_6

Our bedroom is so peaceful. It is my favorite room in the house. The quilt was made by Andrew’s grandmother as a wedding present and is one of those “take in case of a fire” items. We sleep under it every night. I love the scripture above the bed, it is a great reminder for me, and is one of my all time favorites.  “So they are no longer two but one. Therefore what God has joined together, let no man separate.” Matthew 19:6

Thank you for coming to visit. Leave a comment so I know where you “live” and I will stop by for a tour as well.

6 Responses

  1. Hello! I found your blog off of Kelly’s “show us where you live”. For one your house and child is absolutely precious but, I noticed you have a shitzu maybe lhase mix. Your dog looks just like mine!!! Identical! Too cute!

  2. love your house Mary! Thanks for the tour.

  3. Thank you for stopping by my office nook! I hope you’ll come back to visit me again.

  4. You’re home is lovely! Each room. All of the details! Thanks for the tour!

  5. Oh my goodness! You house is great! I especially love the duckie bathroom!

  6. Come and re-do my house! 🙂 It needs cleaned! Everything in yours sparkles – like you!

Leave a Reply

