Abortion – Read with your heart, not your judgements

Our new president, President Obama is someone I have profound respect for. Today, my respect for him grew 10 fold. You see, today, he lifted restrictions on US government funding for groups that provide abortion services or counseling abroad.

Let me stop here, and say, I am passionately in love with Jesus Christ, but I am also passionately pro-choice. You see, I work in a hospital and know first hand the consequences that would occur if abortion was illegal. You see, I don’t believe this issue is black or white. I believe there is a large amount of gray within the issue. Bare with me, let’s look at 3 different situations that have happened more than once at our hospital in the last 12 months.

Let’s look at situation #1 – Middle aged woman, pregnant with 4th child, goes into labor several weeks early. Complications arrive; the doctor can only save one, either the mama or the baby. If abortion was illegal, there would be no option. The father would have no choice in the matter, the mama would not even be considered. You see, if abortion was illegal and the repercussions were such that the physician would loose their medical license, there would be no choice. The baby would live and mama would not. Personally, that is a choice, one to be made by that family, not the government.

Now, let’s look at situation #2 – this one is near and dear to my heart, for more reasons than one. 12 year old girl, pregnant, arrives to the hospital in labor. Labor and delivery is a success. A healthy child is born. But, we must look at the issue of where this infant now goes, the mama has decided to place her child up for adoption. From a hospital employee’s stand point, there are significant flaws in our social services/foster care and adoption programs nation wide. Making abortion illegal is not the only answer, we must fix our broken system. If abortions are illegal, there would be no choice for these children who are having children.

Situation # 3 – a young high school girl was raped by her boyfriend. Is now pregnant, has a sport scholarship on the line for college and knows she is not ready to have a baby. She wants an abortion, but cannot bring her self to ask for help. She tells her boyfriend what she wants to do to fix the issue, he has a friend come over one night, sterilize a coat hanger with rubbing alcohol, and the friends proceeds to assist them in “fixing” the issue. You get my point. These kinds of abortions happen all the time and the girls end up in our hospitals with further complications.

I am not saying Abortion is appropriate birth control. But what I am saying is there are deeper issues at hand, out side of pro-life or pro-choice. Making abortion illegal is a huge issue that will have drastic outcomes. When I say I am pro-choice, I mean, I am an advocate for the choices at hand, abortion as a clean, firmly regulated, well supervised and strongly define medical procedure. I am an advocate for adoption, the placement of children in a clean, firmly regulated, well supervised and strongly defined system of care. I am also an advocate for the after care of these women, either way, if a woman aborts her pregnancy or places her child up for adoption, significant counseling must follow these choices. I am an advocate for counseling paid by insurance, as part of a follow up care plan for these women, regardless of which choice they make. Their hearts are what matter, their tender and broken hearts must be cared for. Most of all, I am pro love – love on these women – regardless of their choice. Regardless of the decision the father from situation #1 makes, their hearts will be broken and they must be fixed.

President Obama, I am proud to say that I am a fan of you. I am excited to see you work for the nation I call home. I am proud to know that you choose a godly, firmly founded and faithful man as your spiritual advisor, most of all; I trust that when you made a public declaration of your trust in Jesus Christ, you meant it. So I trust Him more than I trust you, we serve the same Lord, and for that, I stand behind you and support you.

12 Responses

  1. Let me see if I understand you. you think it is a wonderful thing that our government use my money (as a strong pro-lifer) to support abortion around the world.

    Situation 1 is a straw-man argument as all legislation that limits abortion leaves plent of leeway for medical personnel in issues where the mother’s life is at stake. We are also speaking about less than 1% of all abortions.

    In situation 2 you would have your readers believe that it is better to have murdered this baby rather than ave to deal with the moral dilemma about shortcomings in adoption. I think if you would ask most children who grew up in unhappy adoptive homes (which I would venture is a small percentage), if they would rather have been murdered before birth, they might have a different opinion than you do — but I guess they would have had no opinion if they had been dismembered or burned by acid in an abortion.

    Then you present the red herring of situation 3 — back alley or home abortions. Here is the form of your argument put in another similar situation. Would it not be better to have legalized infanticide, where it can be done in a clean and safe way rather than possibly injuring myself while I am stabbing to death my 9 year old?

    Somehow, I find it very difficult to buy your arguments.

  2. I urge you and your readers to visit: abort73.com

  3. Thank you for your perspective Adel. I know my opinion is hard for most, but yet, the heart of the matter is regardless of if abortion is legal or illegal, it happens, the hearts of the women who either make the choice to have an abortion or choose to carry full term are at the center of my opinion. I do not think the life of the child in urtero is more important that the life of the woman who will soon become a mama. I do however, believe her heart will be broken, either way. I do believe this issue is one full of passion for many people. But I also believe there is room for a little bit of gray here, it does not have to be one extream or the other. You stabbing your 9 year old, is very different than the issues that surround abortion. Abortions can happen is a clean, regulated, safe way. I do believe there are situation that arrive in a woman’s life where an abortion is a choice for her, I want that woman, to have a clean, safe and regulated choice. But most of all, regardless of her choice, I want someone to love her, hold her hand and show her the Lord’s love regardless of her choice.

  4. Let me see if I understand you. As long as it is “clean, regulated and safe” it is somehow more acceptable to kill a child. That sounds like some of the rhetoric from Nazi Germany.

    You say you are a Christian, and yet you have given no Biblical defense of your position. Why is that?

    You say you don’t think the life of the child in utero (it is good that you recognize that they are children) is not more important than the life of the mother. I nowhere said that they are more important. Yet, you somehow have made a “choice” of a pregnant woman to kill a child more important than the life of the child. So the “choice” of the woman in your perspective is more important than the life of a human being. I see no difference between this and the scenario I set up of the murder of a 9-year old.

    You also write that, “regardless of her choice, I want someone to love her, hold her hand and show her the Lord’s love regardless of her choice”. That is certainly a loving thing to do, and I as a pastor would certainly agree. But what does it mean to love her in this situation. Is it to tell her that she did a good thing and it would be alright for her to do it again (over 40% of abortions in the US are 2nd, 3rd or more abortions for women). Or would it be to call her to repent, realize the depth of the sin and help her find redemption and healing in the midst of her brokenness. Would it not be the same kind of response of loving others in the midst of their sins and calling for repentance.

    One last point. You set up a scenario where there is the choice between the life of the mother and the life of the child. My wife and I have spoken about this and she is adamant that if something like this were to happen to her, she would always choose the life of the child. Is not this acting Christ-like? Sacrificing your own life for the sake of another, who has lived no life outside the utero yet?

    What does real love look like? I would suggest that your opinion of politically correct love is really no love at all.

  5. I am firmly and passionately in love with Jesus Christ. That is something that should never be questioned. But, I do believe Jesus calls us to love, regardless of the person’s sin. We are to love the sinner and hate the sinner. I do not believe Jesus Christ values the life of the baby more than the life of the mother. Nor do I believe Jesus Christ would place judgement upon the women whom have abortions. I do believe he would come along side them and love on them. He preaches love, He lived love and He died for our sins, so that we might be forgiven. He did not die so that we might judge eachother, rather He died so we might love eachother.

    For me, this topic is a deep one. Rooted in passion. As I read your comments on my blog I can understand your passion towards the topic. But yet, I stand behind what I say. I am passionatly in love with Jesus Christ, and at the same time, I am passionate about women, the women who are faced with these issues everday. I never said, I believed abortion was “okay” in terms of the Lord, but what I stand behind is that regardless of the choice the woman makes, I pray even if that choice is abortion, she can have a clean, regulated, and safe procedure. I pray she is able to be given the oppurtunity to seek council. I pray she is given the oppurtinty to make this choice with a qulaified physican who will do all in their power to make sure she has the best chance to have children, when it is her choice to do so. Most of all, I pray for her heart. Regardless of her choice, her heart will have been broken, and I am not called to point out her sin, for she might not even know Him. However, regardless of if she knows Him or not, I am called to love her.

  6. I don’t wish to be argumentative, but I just don’t seem to think you are really understanding the issue in the slightest. Yet, you wish to air your illogical and extremely dangerous opinion to a much larger audience.

    You believe that a pre-born infant is a human child. Yet, you think it is alright to keep abortion which is the murder of that child legal. Why not therefore legalize the murder of children, let’s randomly say, under the age of 12. Or do you believe that a child is of greater value after they are born?

    Accordig to your argumentation a good Christian should lovingly embrace a child murderer (with no governmental and country just punishment).

    Let me make my point clear. I believe that Christians should fully embrace women (and their partners who are just as guilty) who have had abortions, but never justify the heinous act. The main ingredient that you are missing is that Christians must work for a just and civil society, and legalization of the killing of pre-born infants is neither just nor civil.

    Please visit http://www.abort73.com/
    for many good solid information and helpful articles that will keep you informed.

    I truly have no idea what kind of Christian church you are in, or where you are in your faith, but I suggest that join a solid discipleship program that can give you better Biblical training, so that you might grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

    You might want to investigate a wonderful ministry that is probably in your area called BSF (Bible Study Fellowship). They have a tremendous discipleship ministry for women. I would also suggest that you do not put forward opinions on such a difficult and serious issue without fully investigating what God’s Word has to say about the issue. You need to have a solid biblical foundation before airing such opinions so that you have a firm place to stand.

    Your defense of the pro-choice position will only continue to serve the death of millions upon millions of pre-born children.

    Did you even know that abortion is a racist institution.
    You might want to read this article:
    http://www.abort73.com/index.php?/abortion/abortion_and_race/

    Let the Love and Wisdom of Christ Jesus dwell richly in you.

  7. I am glad my post brought up conversation. I think we can learn from respectful conversation. I attend and am part of a fabulous Bible based church in my home town. I have been a member of BSF for several years and have also done serveral Bible studies outside of BSF. Botho f my parents are a part of BSF leadership and I am surrounded by friends and family who might disagree with this post, but they too are firmly founded in their faith. I attended a Chirstian college and I graduated with a second degree in Bible Studies and Theology. And yet, we disagree on the topic at hand. Thank you for the website information. I have visited both sites and read the materials on each of them.

    I am not saying that all abortion cases are justified and “okay” by the Lord’s standard. But what I am saying is sometimes, medically speaking, abortions are a neccessary choice and regardless of the choice the woman makes, either abortion or adoption, I firmly believe and will not change my stand, that she is to be loved and not judged.

    Because this topic is one with such passion I will continue to post on it, read about it, reseach it, pray over it and dive into the scripture. Just because we disagree, does not mean I should not continue to discuss the issue.

    I am open to this discussion, we do not have to agree, but I do ask that we respect eachother. I am a woman who is founded in her faith, with strong biblical knowledge and just because I am open to pro-choice does not mean my faith or biblical background is questionable.

  8. I do not question your sincerity of faith, I question your ability to research and understand scripture and therefore the maturity of your faith.

    Would you not question the faith of someone who is pro-slavery? Yet, the Biblical witness on this issue is less clear than that of Life. Would you not question the faith of of someone who defended infanticide or child murder? Yet you have not made even the slightest attempt to distinguish between abortion, infanticide or child murder, as in your own words all three are killing a human child.
    How would you feel if you met someone who claimed to be a Christian and yet firmly and sincerely defended infanticide? Would you question their claim to mature faith?

    Let me remind you and your readers that the issue is not embracing and loving women, but what does it mean to love them. Is it more loving to create a culture of life, where women grow up learning that a child in utero is a child with just as much rights to life. liberty and the pursuit of happiness as the woman, so that when faced with an unwanted pregnancy she is much more likely to make a wise decision. Or is it more loving to allow them to grow up in a culture that teaches that a pre-born child is merely a lump of flesh that can be disposed with. I can tell you from personal experience that I have counseled, befriended and loved several women who have had an abortion and remain troubled, haunted, and often go through long periods of depression. When women discover the truth of abortion, they suffer greatly.

    http://www.massmediamail.com/durarealidad/

    It is very sad to hear that you have been a regular member of BSF and have graduated with a theology degree. Tell me therefore how you deal with the Biblical foundation for life.

    Now you state that not all abortion cases are justified or “okay” by the Lord’s standards. That is terrific. It sounds like you are beginning to see a little light.
    Other than an issue where a woman will absolutely die unless she has an abortion, what other abortion cases would the Lord be “okay” with? By the way, as I stated earlier, pro-life advocates have always made accomodations in cases where the mother would clearly die without an abortion. This is not the same thing as the red herring argument that a woman’s health is at stake (which is defined so loosely that it could mean anything). I also staed earlier that my wife and other Christian women I know who have thoroughly considered this issue would also lay their lives down for their child (sounds like something Jesus said doesn’t it).

    I would urge you to continue to think biblically, logically and rationally on this issue, and not merely emotionally.

  9. So aside from the website references you gave me, can you point me in the direction of some scripture that I could research? I am not above researching this topic, I have spent hours pouring over the topic. So help me out, give me some scripture to learn from and study, isn’t that how we learn, grow and discover a deeper relationship with Jesus? His word is the source of truth. We can agree on that, so please help me see what He has to say about the topic…

  10. I have spent many many hundreds of hours reading and researching this important topic from many different sides. I could not possibly give you a full presentation of the defense of the pro-life position in a blog comment, but I will do my best. Please read Beckwith’s book, which I have referenced near the end of this post.

    Here is a start to a proper Biblical worldview on this position:

    Let us begin with where we have agreement. You already recognize that the pre-born child is a human being. Therefore, the biblical passages that speak of the value of life would be appropriate. All of us are created in the image of God (Gen.1-3, James 2, etc.) and are therefore of great worth in the eyes of God.
    “Did not he who made me in the womb make them? Did not the same one form us both within our mothers” (Job 31:15)
    Yet Thou art He who didst bring me forth from the womb; Thou didst make me trust when upon my mother’s breasts. Upon Thee I was cast from birth; Thou hast been my God from my mother’s womb. (Psalms 22:9-10)
    For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
    14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
    15 My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place.
    When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,
    16 your eyes saw my unformed body.
    All the days ordained for me
    were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.(Psalms 139:13-16)
    Thus says the LORD, your Redeemer, and the one who formed you from the womb, “I, the LORD, am the maker of all things, Stretching out the heavens by Myself, And spreading out the earth all alone, (Isaiah 44:24)

    Do I need to then refer to passages that speak against murder – the willful killing of a human life?

    Here is an “okay” site that has some helpful biblical helps on this issue for some further reading:
    http://www.prolifeamerica.com/Bible_Study_Links.cfm

    Once you recognize that the pre-born are human beings, what possible biblical defense can one have for the willful killing of a pre-born baby?
    Let me refer you to some wonderful full length works that give a solid and full presentation of the defense of life.
    Francis Beckwith’s “Politically Correct Death”
    Randy Alcorn’s “Pro Life Answers to Pro Choice Arguments”
    You might also find the book “Forgiven and Set Free: A Post-Abortion Bible Study for Women” to be a helpful book for your situation
    If you want more book or article research I can provide dozens more, but this is a good start.

    God bless your prayerful studies on this issue. I will pray that the Lord guides you into the truth through his inerrant Word.

  11. Melissa your story is powerful. Thank you for sharing. I am in the process of discovering what I truly believe about this topic, which is why this post is so important to me.

    Yes, I do believe the child in utero is a human being from the moment of conseption. However, if all abortions are made illegal, those that are done as a medical neccessity would there fore also be illegal. What I advocate for is strick regulations within the medical industry for properly performing those procedures that are medically necessisary. I do not support these procedures used as a way of birth control or as a way for people, healthly people, to “get rid of the issue”. I do however, support the procedure being done under strick medical guildlines.

    I do believe we are fearfully and wonderfully made, I do believe every child is a gift from God. I also believe life is something to be valued. But I also believe in the importantance of medical procedures.

    This journey is a challenging one. I am excited to see what comes of it. Thank you for your comments.

  12. As a Christian, I happen to argee with Mary. We are called to be Jesus with skin on. From my knowledge of the bible (limited as it is), Jesus said we were to “love our neighbors as ourselves.” It is not our place to judge what other choose to do with their bodies. Isn’t that God’s job… to judge???? Yes, I believe that abortion is wrong and a sin in God’s eyes. But I also believe that lying is a sin in God’s eyes and there are no laws making lying illegal outside the court system.

    Our Heavenly Father has given us free will. We are free to choose our actions and our relationship with Christ. Wouldn’t it be more like Jesus to provide safe places for women to make this decision than to ban it forcing them to go to dark alleys???

    Somewhere in the Bible it also states that there is a seperation of church and state. (Again, my bible knowledge is limited). I believe that this is one of the reasons God made this destinction. There are some laws and rules that should not be governed by the church. Government was formed to make sure that its citizens are safe and that there is order to the society.

    Ultimately God is our judge. It’s our actions and relationship with Jesus Christ that is important.

Leave a Reply

