28 years, not done yet…

So today, I am 28 years old… yep… I have been able to drink legally for 7 years, I have been out of high school for 10 years and I have been an “adult” for 10 years as well. So… today as I reflect on a few things, here are my thoughts…

 

In the past 28 years…

1.      I became someone’s daughter, I became someone’s younger sister, I became someone’s older sister.

2.      I have gotten in 2 fist fights, both leading me to “miss” days of school.

3.      I learned to swim, play the piano, saxophone and flute.

4.      I spent 15 years as a gymnast.

5.      I loved 3 men, 2 of which broke my heart, one I married and still love today!

6.      I lost two women I loved dearly.  

7.      I bought my own car.

8.      I went to college, lived in the dorms and drank until I could not walk.

9.      I changed my college major 11 times.

10.  I have experienced what it is like to be a Division 1 college cheerleader – GO RAMS!

11.  I got engaged.

12.  I managed to graduated college.

13.  I planned a wedding.

14.  I was a maid of honor in one wedding, a bridesmaid in another wedding, and I read for the first time in front of a crowd at another wedding…

15.  I became someone’s wife.

16.  I know what it is like to work until the wee hours of the morning, I know what it feels like to go to work when you don’t want to and I have worked at the same place for 4 years.

17.  I became a home owner.

18.  I have repainted 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom, I have rearranged the living room furniture at least 10 times.

19.  I have fallen in love with a dog named Nhyja.

20.  I know what it is like to have life long girl friends.

21.  I became a mother.

22.  I became an auntie.

23.  I have taken countless pictures.

24.  I have cried until I had nothing left. I have laughed so hard I wet myself. I have loved so much it hurts.

25.  I have embarrassed myself more times than I can count.

26.  I have fallen in love with myself.

27.  I have forgiven myself for mistakes I made in the past.

28.  I have fallen more madly in love with Jesus than ever before.

 

If the next 28 years teach me as much as the first, it will be a good life.

4 Responses

  1. Happy Birthday!! hope you feel extra special today!!

  2. Happy birthday my sweet sweet friend. I love you more than words can say, and miss you just as much!

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! You are only getting started and the future looksso bright for you!

    “All the days planned for you were written in His book before you were even one day old. What God has done is wonderful, I know this very well!”

  4. Happy Birthday! Sounds like a full 28 years! God is so good! We are the same age :).

Leave a Reply

