2080 hours and lots of tears…

A year ago today I returned to work from my maternity leave. A year ago I had a tiny little baby, just a little over 2 months old… A year ago today I cried so hard my eyes hurt. A year ago today I was so excited you would have thought it was the first day of kindergarten for me. I had new pens, new shoes, a new frame to sit on my desk and hold a picture of my precious one and of course I totally had on a new outfit. I remember that day as if it was yesterday. I remember what it felt like to drop him off for the very first time. I remember emailing with my mother in law all day, just to make sure he was not giving her a hard time, because you know, if I need to come right home, I will… I remember what it felt like to see the clock say 5:00pm and know it was time to go kiss my baby. I kissed him and held him as if I had not seen him for weeks. My poor husband must have thought I had gone crazy. But I spent that night loving on my baby, I ate dinner with him in my arms, I nurses him as we watched TV, we fell asleep together and I cried again when I had to put him in his crib for the night because my heart just could not bare to let him go for another few hours. I remember getting up so excited the next morning, ready to nurse him, kiss him all over and just hold him for a while before having to get ready for the day.

So, I have officially been a full time, working out of the home Mama for a year. Yep, I have spent over 2080 hours over the past 52 weeks away from my baby. I have been blessed with a mother in law who loves him and cares for him. I have been blessed with a new friend, a godly friend who loves on my baby two days a week so Nana can have a break and man; it feels like time has just flown by without warning of how fast it travels. My little fella is walking, starting to talk and giving his Mama real kisses. One thing remains, 5:00pm is my favorite part of the day, dinner as a family, a relaxing evening, kisses and baths before bed, cuddling as we read a story and spending time praying over him, that is my favorite part of the day.

Jesus – you are good. You are good, so good. Thank you for a good year, I praise you for the blessings you have given me, the job you have created for me and the family life you have blessed me with. Some nights were short, some days were long, but regardless, you were there. I could not have made it thru the ups and downs of this year without you. I love you more than life. Amen.

Leave a Reply

