Today is a good day… Really?

Today is a good day, life is good. The house is clean, well I have managed to keep it picked up for the most part this week, I think I will only have 4 loads of laundry to do this weekend and the weather outside is breath taking… Not to mention, I can honestly say, I am happy. But what does that mean exactly…

 

Because just ask anyone and they might admit to being happy one minute and frustrated the next… but does your happiness really go away? When I look at the life Andrew and I have created, the home we have decorated and care for, the son we are raising and the memories we are creating, I really cannot say anything other than Praises Be unto the Lord! Seriously, we are blessed. We enjoy each other, we laugh all most everyday, we are surrounded by life long friends who truly love and support us and we have an extended family most would love to have…

 

So my question is this. Is happiness based on circumstances alone? Can you be happy in the midst of a terrible day at work, or while trying to keep it all together while facing an unbearable tragedy? Can you be happy in the midst of a fight with your spouse?

 

I love the internet! I love having things at my finger tips… so I will also admit that I love Dictionary.com! So I plugged in Happy into the Thesaurus, and this is what can up…

 

10 thesaurus results for: happy

Roget’s 21st Century Thesaurus, Third Edition

Main Entry:

happy

Part of Speech:

adjective

Definition:

in high spirits; satisfied

Synonyms:

blessed, blest, blissful, blithe, can’t complain, captivated, cheerful, chipper, chirpy, content, contented, convivial, delighted, ecstatic, elated, exultant, flying high, gay, glad, gleeful, gratified, intoxicated, jolly, joyful, joyous, jubilant, laughing, light, lively, looking good, merry, mirthful, on cloud nine*, overjoyed, peaceful, peppy, perky, playful, pleasant, pleased, sparkling, sunny, thrilled, tickled, tickled pink*, up, upbeat, walking on air

Antonyms:

depressed, discouraged, dissatisfied, miserable, morose, pained, sad, sorrowful, unhappy

Roget’s 21st Century Thesaurus, Third Edition
Copyright © 2008 by the Philip Lief Group.

 

 

The very first word is something that caught my eye right away… BLESSED…. Again with Dictionary.com …

 

5 thesaurus results for: Blessed

Roget’s 21st Century Thesaurus, Third Edition

Main Entry:

blessed

Part of Speech:

adjective

Definition:

sanctified

Synonyms:

adored, among the angels, beatified, consecrated, divine, enthroned, exalted, glorified, hallowed, holy, inviolable, redeemed, resurrected, revered, rewarded, sacred, sacrosanct, saved, spiritual, unprofane

Antonyms:

condemned, cursed, damned, disapproved

 

So today, is a good day… I can be happy in the midst of a terrible day at work, or while trying to keep it all together while facing an unbearable tragedy and in the midst of a fight with my spouse… Because today, I have found that being happy also means; I am blessed, adored, redeemed, rewarded, sacred, and saved. (those are just a few of my favorites from what I found…)

 

Today is a good day! Thank you Jesus, You are good and Your love endures forever! I love you! Amen!

One Response

  1. It’s the idea of actually praising the Lord in every circumstance! It’s amazing the power of choice we have, the choice to have a good attitude in everything that comes at us in a day. People don’t realize they have the choice most of the time to choose this happiness that you speak of. You just chose it! I love when I’m sick or frustrated and I actually think, “I’m going to Praise the Lord” because I finally know that I’m getting it. I’m doing the Word and not just hearing it!

Leave a Reply

