A nice chair, big bathrobe and WORDS…

So every morning, well most mornings, okay more like 4 mornings a week, on a good week, I get out of the shower, crawl into my husbands bathrobe and take a seat in our office. I have a very large and very comfy chair there, so I spend a few moments there with the Lord. Lately, I have been doing a study thru a partnership with my home church. These are the verses I have spent the day pondering over.

 

Psalm 35:28
My tongue will speak of your righteousness and of your praises all day long.

 

Psalm 139:4
Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O LORD.

 

Proverbs 10:19
When words are many, sin is not absent, but he who holds his tongue is wise.

 

Proverbs 31:26
She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue.

 

James 3

Not many of you should presume to be teachers, my brothers, because you know that we who teach will be judged more strictly. We all stumble in many ways. If anyone is never at fault in what he says, he is a perfect man, able to keep his whole body in check. When we put bits into the mouths of horses to make them obey us, we can turn the whole animal. Or take ships as an example. Although they are so large and are driven by strong winds, they are steered by a very small rudder wherever the pilot wants to go. Likewise the tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts. Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark. The tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole person, sets the whole course of his life on fire, and is itself set on fire by hell. All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and creatures of the sea are being tamed and have been tamed by man, but no man can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison. With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers, this should not be. Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring? My brothers, can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs? Neither can a salt spring produce fresh water.

 

I am not sure if it is just me. But I seem to really struggle with what I say. I sometimes find myself saying something and then wishing I never even opened my mouth. Sometimes I did not say something and I regret keeping my mouth shut. I think there is a tender yet seriousness to these scriptures. The Lord cares about what I say, for that matter, what I think about. He cares about everything I say, and my personal goal is to always reflect Him well. I will be the first to admit, I don’t always do that. But Praise Him for His unconditional love and overwhelming forgiveness. I love that I always get to start over with Him. Every morning is new. I get to wipe my slate clean and give it my best shot everyday – regardless of what happened before.

 

I love my time with Him. I love our mornings, snuggled under a quilt my grandma made. I love just being in His presence, and today, my prayer is that I was a good reflection of Him. With my words. I pray I represented Him well with what I said and with what I did not say. A challenge for me, I assume for most, but a challenge like non-other. I hope you meet with Him every day, I pray you think of Him often and most of all, I pray your lives are changed because of Him. Until we “talk” again – have a great day!

 

Lord – thank you for your Words to me. Thank you for your Word, for making it clear and to the point. Thank you for placing this on my heart, for challenging me to become a better woman, wife, mama, friend and follower of your Son. I love the challenges that come from You, because even if I don’t have a great day with it, you give me a second chance. For that, I will forever praise you. Continue to press upon my heart the meaning of the scriptures that lay before me. Continue to speak to me thru your Word each morning. I love our time together. I love you. Forever yours, Amen.

Leave a Reply

