10 weeks until we meet him face to face…

In just 10 short weeks, I will be on maternity leave. My life will be changed forever – and a new adventure begins. The reality of bringing home a baby has set in, I have always said there have been milestones in my pregnancy that re-affirm Andrew and I are actually going to have a baby. The first moment was when we found out we were having a son, for some reason, that appointment was different. The image on the screen was more real and the reality of us having a baby became more than a dream. The second moment was when I first felt him kick me. You know, really kick me. He made his presence known and after that moment, I tell ya, it would be hard to forget he is in there. And now, the final moment of reality came this weekend. I HAVE A BABY STROLLER & CAR SEAT! Yep, nothing makes having a baby more real that walking out to the garage to get in the car and go to work, and walk by the new baby stroller and car seat. Yes, I cried this morning. I just sat on the garage stairs and cried thankful tears. There was a time when having a baby was just a dream, and this morning, as I was leaving for work, watching the stroller disappear as the garage door went down, the dream became a reality. We are having a baby!  

I am now, once again, in the dreaming phase of life. I can literally spend hours just thinking about what life is going to be like in 10 weeks. I often imagine his room filled with golf clubs, cars, trucks and trains. I see him going fishing with his dad and camping with us as a family. I cannot wait for the first time he brings me some kind of insect as a present or finds a “mysterious” piece of dirt in the yard and thinks it is fun to play with. I cannot wait to watch him learn to crawl and struggle to walk. I find myself looking around the house and saying things like “oh a toy box would look just great right there”, or “the highchair will fit just perfectly right there” and my favorite place in the house is our new living room chair. It rocks back and forth, and I can just picture Andrew and him cuddling in the BIG FLUFFY chair together, and watching golf together on Saturday and Sunday Mornings.  

I want to see his face, touch his toes and fingers, I want to kiss his face and snuggle with him. I just know I am going to take loads of pictures of his every move, but for the next 10 weeks, I will have to just enjoy the bursts of movement he gives me, just to say Hello and keep imaging what life will be like when he gets here.  I am anxiously and joyfully expecting his arrival! More to come!   

One Response

  1. I am so happy for you two. You are going to make great parents.
    Jeff

Leave a Reply

