Goodbye – a long time coming…

Since I have a little break I want to spend some time in reflection. I know it has been a while since I wrote, but it has been a long few months!  

Well, the day has come. My life for the past two years, at least work wise, has all been in preparation for today! Starting at 1am this morning, the final stage in this new Hospital was in progress, the remaining medical equipment that was not needed for the patients we currently have was moved, the ER at the old campus closed at 6:45 this morning and at 7am we received our official first patient. Patients are being transported every 15 minutes from the Egbert Campus to the Praire Center Parkway Campus. It is starting to feel like a real hospital around here. At 7pm we will receive our last patient from the Egbert Campus and life will resume as normal in the days to come. It is hard to believe that after today, the very thing I have worked so hard for will be complete. It was April 18, 2005 when we broke ground on the land the hospital owns. It seems like yesterday as I look at all the hours of preparation, boxes of paper that hold documentation no one will care about after today and most of all it amazes me to look back at the memories I have and the people I have come to love.  

As I look back on this journey, I am amazed at how the project has come together and I am amazed at how I have changed over the last few years, both professionally and personally. The biggest change, is I am expecting my first child in November, and the things that use to be a big deal, don’t seem so important. Lately, my life has been consumed by work and the excitement of having a baby. Recently I had the opportunity to spend some girl time with a friend and it was a miracle – we only talked about the baby! There was little or no mention of my work life, and having been so consumed by it for the last two years, it was a fresh of breath air to talk about something else.  

But as this project comes to a close, I will spend a little time reflecting on the journey I have been so blessed to be a part of.  Over the past 2 ½ years, I have had the opportunity to witness and experience the following life changing events… I know what 1.6 million pounds of rebar looks like and costs J I have seen more than 5,960 gallons of paint go up on the walls and experienced the complaints regarding personal preference of the colors we selected. But I have learned have tougher skin and not take everything so personally.  I have witnessed a patient move that was done with impeccable attention to detail, organization and care. I am honored to work for this establishment regardless of the amount of tears I have cried. I know what it feels like to work more than 14 hours a day and be so proud of everything that was accomplished I could hardly sleep. I cannot wait to deliver my baby in a place I have grown to love with people I deeply respect. I had the opportunity to share a meal with Mr. Satoshi Tsunakawa (or Mr. Toshiba as I call him) the president of Toshiba Medical equipment, and discuss our new technology and the opportunity we have to be a showcase location for Toshiba. I have learned not to get star struck and overwhelm my guest with my camera as I see the scrapbook pages come to mind.  I have discovered a passion that I never thought I would have and am proud to know who I am and what I want out of life.

I have come to experience the reward that comes with a long day of work, little sleep and a deadline and budget met. I have discovered my passion to be a mom as well as continue to work with these people I have come to love. I have met new friends and said goodbye to old ones. Most of all I have learned that nothing worth having comes without a little pain – and I guess that is good to know before labor comes! J

I have enjoyed this journey and am intensely emotional as it comes to an end. When this day comes to an end, I will say good bye to the Phipps boys I have come to know, call my friends and work with everyday. I will miss my Interior Design friends from the lovely state of Texas. I will miss our late night Wendy runs and last minute preparations. I will miss the celebration parties after a job well done and I say good bye with a heavy heart to a job that I am proud to have been a part of.

As the day continues, I will reflect on the limited about of time I have left on this project, but at the end of the day, I will return home with a intimate sense of pride and sadness, looking forward to the adventure that awaits a head, both at home and work!

Leave a Reply

