He is Mine and I am His…

So, I am sure there are more people out there than just me that experience growing pains through out their life. I must say, becoming a mature adult, a strong follow of the Lord and a woman striving for strong integrity is not an easy process. So I came across these verses from the Message Translation ….  

James 4:1 Where do you think all these appalling wars and quarrels come from? Do you think they just happen? Think again. They come about because you want your own way, and fight for it deep inside yourselves. 

There are times when I fight just because I am mad and need someone to listen to me. Often times is happens between my husband and I. He is a great listener and I often start the conversation with, please listen to me… but recently I had a quarrel with someone else I love dearly. I believe I made the right decision and unfortunately, they did not agree with my decision. To this day I stand by my decision but I know see, why I was so upset when my friend did not see my point of view. Interesting, how a part of growing up is realizing that not everyone will see things they way you do – I should have tuned in better when I was a teenager because is this not the reason teens and their parents fight?

James 4:2 You lust for what you don’t have and are willing to kill to get it. You want what isn’t yours and will risk violence to get your hands on it. You wouldn’t think of just asking God for it, would you? 

I have come to love the fact that I can ask the Lord for anything. The small things, like a raise at work, to the large things like a healthy family full of babies. It brings joy to my heart to know that He cares about it all…

James 4:3 And why not? Because you know you’d be asking for what you have no right to. You’re spoiled children, each wanting your own way.

James 4:4 You’re cheating on God. If all you want is your own way, flirting with the world every chance you get, you end up enemies of God and his way. 

I guess this comes with becoming mature in my faith, all I really want is to follow Him. My desire is to serve Him no matter what that really means or where I end up doing it. I just want to be where He wants me. After all, is it not true that His opinion is the only one that really matters in the end? I want to hear the famous words “Good job, my faithful servant.”

James 4:5 And do you suppose God doesn’t care? The proverb has it that “he’s a fiercely jealous lover.”

James 4:6 And what he gives in love is far better than anything else you’ll find. It’s common knowledge that “God goes against the willful proud; God gives grace to the willing humble.”

James 4:7 So let God work his will in you. Yell a loud no to the Devil and watch him scamper. I love the fact that I can yell “get behind me” and the Devil has to listen! I love the power that comes with following the Lord.

I find great peace in the that power. Because as long as I have Him, I am set, I am protected, loved, watched over, and most of all, I am justified. I am taken. There is peace in that.

James 4:8 Say a quiet yes to God and he’ll be there in no time. Quit dabbling in sin. Purify your inner life. Quit playing the field.

Playing the field… interesting terminology to me… However, I have come to realize that He is really it. His name, I AM, really means that He is… you know, He is everything. Everything I could ever need. I guess if I don’t have another friend as long as I live, or ever reconcile with the one I had an argument with, the one person that will never leave me, is really the only one that matters. I just want to be consumed by Him. I want to love those He loves, I want to serve those He tells me to serve and most of all I want to give Him my everything. There is a deep love there, between Him and I, one that I cherish and hold firmly to.

James 4:9 Hit bottom, and cry your eyes out. The fun and games are over. Get serious, really serious.

James 4:10 Get down on your knees before the Master; it’s the only way you’ll get on your feet.  

Let’s just say, I have hit bottom. Well not any more, I am more so on the way back up, but last week, yep I was at the bottom of a deep pit. But that is the thing about deliverance. It comes from the Lord and the Lord only. I will say that I have experienced the feeling of His hand grasping to mine, with the intention of lifting me out of that deep pit I often jump into. It is nice to be lifted out, it is comforting to know that no matter how many times I jump, fall or get pushed back into a pit, He will reach down and lift me up. However, this time, it was different. There is the desire to never go back into this certain pit. And that, the desire and ability to never return is true deliverance. For now, I will rest in the experience I have had with the Lord. And I will love Him for all of my days, just for the simple fact that He came to my rescue.  He is good, He is awesome, and most of all He is mine and I am His – it does not get any better than that!  

Leave a Reply

