A So Called New Year’s Resolution!

You know, as the New Year begins it is amazing to me what the Lord has done. I am not ashamed to admit that at one time I got caught up what I like to call “the bigger house” issues of life. You know, early in 2006 my husband received a promotion, as did I. So our monthly financial intake significantly increased. Little did we know, there were some trying times coming our way. But we proceeded to look at the new construction going up around us, we walked through several homes, day dreamed about a bigger house, one with a basement, yard and of course a few extra bedrooms. As time went by, we never purchased a new house and we never moved.

However, there was a time when I was seriously upset about it. I wanted that house; there was one in particular that I fell in love with. You should have seen it, the kitchen was beautiful, the bay window captivated my inner decorator and the master bath room had the biggest bath tub I had ever seen. But as I look back, I am over whelmed with praise as I now know what the Lord had planned for us.  

You see, Andrew got sick, money suddenly became very tight, and if we had moved into that bigger and better house, who knows what our current situation would be. But the Lord, my Father, looked out for us, He had our best interest in mind and He knew why we were not to move. So why do I question where I am now? I think it is just human nature. I am reminded of His faithfulness as I look back on how He provided guidance for us as we “house shopped’ so I will remain faithful as I look to Him today to provide guidance as Andrew starts to make progress on the road to recovery.

I will trust in the fact that He knows what I know as the unknown. He knows what tomorrow will bring, for His words says, He has plans for me, plans not to harm me but to bring me prosperity. So that is my so called New Year’s Resolution – to trust Him and His word. For that is my life line.

Leave a Reply

