Goodbye 2006, Hello Promises!

Well, I will say that I am not sad to see 2006 come and go. It is a year that had many trails as well as many triumphs but needless to say I am more excited at the thought of what is in store for 2007.  As I was spending time having a few words with the Lord, I came to this passage of scripture. Interestingly so, it was part of the church service on Sunday, I am forever amazed at the confirmation I receive from the Lord.  

Hebrews 10:23 Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful. 

I found a few scriptures that speak promises to the depths of my soul…  

Psalms 2:12: Blessed are all who take refuge in him.

John 6:47: I tell you the truth, he who believes has everlasting life.

Psalm 91:11: For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways.

Isaiah 30:19: How gracious he will be when you cry for help.

Isaiah 41:10: So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you will my righteous right hand.

Matthew 6:8: Your Father knows what you need before you ask him.

1st Peter 5:7: Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

Deuteronomy 7:9: Know therefore that the Lord your God is God; he is the faithful God, keeping his covenant of love to a thousand generations of those who love him and keep his commands.

Psalms 147:3: “He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.”

Isaiah 43:2: “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they will not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be scorched, nor will the flame burn you.”

Matthew 21:22: “All things you ask in prayer, believing, you will receive.”

I have yet to find the verse that says ”choose me and everything will be easy, you will live a debt free, struggle free and disappointment free life.” I have come to understand that the Lord does not promise to give us everything, rather He promises not to give us more than we can handle.  So on that note: The Lord gave us a trying year, with 2006. But He has promised us healing, His word says so. For that I am excited. I will wait with expectation and excitement as to what is in store for us.  

Here are some highlights of 2006… 

The Year of Home Improvements: We learned how to lay flooring, change light fixtures, faucets and I have been able to get accustom to re-arranging the furniture.

The Year of Michigan: We were able to visit Andrew’s family, some of whom I have never met, over the 4th of July holiday. We visited all kinds of tour attractions, which I loved because it made for some awesome scrapbook pages. We spend time on Lake Michigan, found time to shop, Andrew found time to golf and we spent hours with family.

The Year of Medical Terminology: We have visited countless physicians, I have learned medical terms I thought were made up and we were reaffirmed in the fact that the Lord’s brilliance far surpasses any physician we could seek. We have strengthened our prayer life, witnessed miracles and faces struggles. All of which we did together.

The Year of Phase 10: Since Andrew got sick, we have consumed our time with games. We have played countless games of cards, Phase 10 to be exact. We have mastered Dominoes and the game Aggravation.

The Year of Mac & Cheese: For some reason we have consumed more Mac & Cheese this year than I think I ate during my entire college experience. We have learned what it has meant to take care of each other, rely on each other and forgive each other.

The Year of Family: I am always amazed at the family the Lord has blessed me with. If there was a time to ever question what I mean to them, I can look back on 2006 and know without a doubt that I am loved, if only by a few, I am loved.

The Year of Few Pictures: For those who don’t know, I am a picture freak. I love to scrapbook and I carry my camera around with me all the time. However, this year, I was a little pre-occupied and did not get to capture some of life’s adventures on film. Nor, would Andrew really appreciate me snapping photos admits all of his appointments. However, I did keep the memorabilia – so there is something to add to the scrapbook. J

Finally: 2006 has been the year of us. I think everyone comes to a point in their marriage when they feel like throwing in the towel, it is then the Lord kindly reminds up of the commitment we made before it all started. Some how, we have made it through this year, we have been broken at times we thought we were beyond repair, we have spent several sleepless nights in tears admits frustrating medical tests, busy work schedules and unforgiving deadlines and most of all we have been refined. Is that not the purpose of life? I have no doubt in what the Lord promises, and I have no doubt in His faithfulness, which leads me to be so excited I can hardly sit still. I am ready for whatever is to come. I will wait with expectation!   With a joyful heart and a smile I say, Happy New Year, the best is yet to come! 

One Response

  1. Mary, you responded to my post on Noahs blog and i came here and HAD to respond!
    My son Samuel has many of the symptoms your husband has. I know its not the same to compare a husband with a child- BUT i do know the agony, the frustration, the millions of dr appts, the med changes the NO sleep, all of these things. I know all too well. Samuel just changed meds three week ago- again, and we are just now balancing out again, although he was up at 5. He too sleeps very little without medication and has also been once diagnosed as bi-polar although the most recent conclusion is severe ADHD.
    I am praying for you.
    I get it.
    I understand
    God is with you.

    i have a chapter in a book coming out in june about this- called Special Gifts- it’s about mothers and thier special needs kids, but i wrote about what i’m going through with samuel. i’ll try to get you a copy. it helps just to be validated. to have someone understand… to know that you aren’t “crazy”.
    i’d love to “chat” through email anytime.
    Blessings!
    Heather

Leave a Reply

