Promises…

“This is what I want you to do: Ask the Father for whatever is in keeping with the things I’ve revealed to you. Ask in my name, according to my will, and he’ll most certainly give it to you. Your joy will be a river overflowing its banks!” John 16:23-24 The Message 

This scripture is a promise, and at this point in my life I have come to cling to the promises within the Word. However, I have learned two things from this promise. First, we are to ask for things in the name of Jesus, second, we are to ask for them according to His will.   If we ask for things in the name of Jesus and they match up according to His will, we will be given them. However, if what we ask for does not match up according to His will, we will not be given them. Make sense?  Side note: this is why everyone who asks through prayer to win the Lottery does not, because it is not in the Lord’s will for everyone who asks to win! I know this might seem elementary to some, but to me, it applies here and now and that is why it is so interesting… I guess this is why people still die from cancer, babies die before they can walk and I guess this is why people assume their prayers were not answered. I believe all prayers are answered; however, they might not be answered in the way we would like.  For example, I have prayed for 14 weeks for my husband to be healed and for him to be consumed with peace. As I came across this scripture it hit me, we are to travel down this path at this time, and I trust that my husband will be healed according to the Lord’s will, or in my language, according to the Lord’s timing. Now, healing can mean two things, he can get better physically and mentally, which means life resumes as it once was. Or he can be healed by entering the Lord’s kingdom. I however, would prefer that he is healed physically and mentally, but I have come to understand that he might never be healed and our current way of life might just become the norm. I am okay with the latter, if it is the Lord’s will.   

Father, I come before you broken and with heavy burdens. Your word says that all who are heavy laden with burden can come to you and find rest. I cling to that promise, I ask, in the name of Jesus, on behalf on my husband, that you grant him rest. Consume him with peace; give him the gift of a full nights rest and the ability to be hopeful during our current situation. I come to you with the desires of any wife, the desire to have children, the desire to have that dream home and a nice green lawn. I ask you, in the name of Jesus, to reveal your plans for our lives. Give us direction, give us wisdom, gives us the ability and confidence to rely on the promise that you will provide for us in all areas of life. Father, you are good, you are my Father and I love you. I come seeking you, trusting in you and on behalf of my husband I come in faith, with my hand stretched out remember those who have touched your cloak and received healing.  I ask for joy, I plead for joy, Father, please give us joy during this season which is all about you. Consume our hearts with joy rather than worry. Come Father, and come boldly. I ask all of these things according to your will, with faith that they are covered by the blood of Jesus. I love you Father, in your son’s name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

