A promise from Isaiah 54:10…

“Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken, nor my banner of peace around you.” Says the Lord who has compassion on you. 

I received this scripture from a dear friend of mine. It is these promises that are the only thing that seem to bring me peace and assurance. It is no secret, things are rather rough at the moment, however, the promises that are set before me are overwhelmingly powerful. They leave me breathless, I am often overwhelmed by tears and somehow, I find rest amidst all the craziness.  

You see, to watch someone you love suffer is something that is indescribable. You watch their pain, you watch their discouragement turn to anger, you watch them fight with all they have and yet, all you see is brokenness. It is a very powerful place I am in right now, I am in a place I have no control over. I have been forced to watch my husband suffer, to watch him struggle and yet, all I can do is pray. You see, I want to take this suffering from him. I would give my very own life to give him consuming peace just for one day. I would sell all I have to provide for him, I will pull all the strings I have within the hospital I work at to make sure he receives the best care, and yet, regardless of what I do, he still struggles. He is still broken, he has yet to be healed. Actually, he has yet to really have a firm diagnosis. I am frustrated along with him, I am tired from restless nights, I have cried thousands of tears and my heart hurts like it has never hurt before. 

All I can do is pray; I have done everything else in my power, so now, continue to pray. I will pray harder, longer and with more scripture. If you sense determination, you are right on – I am determined to fight for my husband. I will fight for him with all I have, I will see this thru and I will not lie down in the midst of this battle.  As I pray for the man I love, I will remember the words of 1st Peter 4:12 – 19. 

Dear friends, do not be surprised at the painful trial you are suffering, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice that you participate in the sufferings of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when his glory is revealed. If you are insulted because of the name of Christ, you are blessed, for the Spirit of glory and of God rests on you. If you suffer, it should not be as a murderer or thief or any other kind of criminal, or even as a meddler. However, if you suffer as a Christian, do not be ashamed, but praise God that you bear that name. For it is time for judgment to begin with the family of God; and if it begins with us, what will the outcome be for those who do not obey the gospel of God? And,   “If it is hard for the righteous to be saved, what will become of the ungodly and the sinner?” So then, those who suffer according to God’s will should commit themselves to their faithful Creator and continue to do good. 

For now, I will pray, I will cry out to the Lord and I will boldly go before Him. I will remain faithful to Him and forever in love with Him. But I will also be humbly broken as I watch my beloved husband struggle.

Leave a Reply

