Being alone…

I am sure I am not the only person that enjoys a nice quite day. Well yesterday was just that, a quite day, I worked all day but kind of kept to myself, not because I was sad or  involved in a really deep self evaluation or reflection period, I kept to myself just because. And to my surprise, it was a really nice day.  I was able to work, attend my meetings and then go home. I did not say much in any of the meetings and to add to my quite day, there are very few days that I actually enjoy taking lunch by myself, but yesterday was just that day. A peaceful day… I ate lunch in the quite of my office and just enjoyed the atmosphere.  

There is something to be said for being able to have “alone time” or quite days. I think it comes with maturity, because if you were to ask me about yesterday, 4 years ago, I would have never even thought of having a day like that, let alone enjoying it. For example, I have come to enjoy nice quite nights at home by myself. My man will be out with the boys and rather than hanging with the girls, I have come to enjoy a movie on the couch and a long bath. Four years ago, well even, two years ago, I would have never enjoyed being alone. I no longer look at those dining alone as something I never want to experience because it makes me sad, rather, as something I envy. I envy the ability to really know yourself enough to eat alone in a packed restaurant or see a movie by your self or better yet, enjoy lunch completely by yourself while surrounded by co-workers. I see it as a strength rather than a weakness. I have become comfortable knowing that being alone does not mean one is lonely or unloved; rather, I have found confidence in myself to enjoy the time I have alone. Don’t get my wrong, I can still have a good time with the girls on any given night, I can still hang until 2am and most of all I can still fee comfortable surrounded by hundreds of people. But now, I can also feel comfortable being alone.  

I think it is important to get away from life, even while in the midst of life. It was nice to work yesterday but to escape the everyday issues by just retreating to my office and being alone.  Interesting what one learns in the midst of trying to be a “grown up”…

One Response

  1. Hello!

    I am contacting you because I am working with the authors of a book about blogs, and I’d like to request permission to use a photograph of yours in this book. Please contact me at hannah@wefeelfine.org, and I’d be happy to give you more information about the project. Please paste a link to your blog in the subject field. Your assistance is greatly appreciated.

    Sincerely,

    Hannah
    hannah@wefeelfine.org

Leave a Reply

