Jonah and the fish!

Jonah 2:8-9 (New International Version)

 8 “Those who cling to worthless idols
       forfeit the grace that could be theirs. 
 

9 But I, with a song of thanksgiving,
       will sacrifice to you.
       What I have vowed I will make good.
       Salvation comes from the LORD.”

I love the story of Jonah being swallowed by the “big fish”. It was my favorite childhood Sunday school story and it is by far my favorite Veggie Tales movie. But what I love most, the simplicity of the verses above. These two verses say it all to me, by clinging to idols, which I will clump anything other to the Lord into the category of idols, I forfeit the grace that could be mine. Is there anything I have worth giving up the grace that comes from the Lord? Is there anyone I know that is worth giving up the grace that comes from the Lord? My answer, no, there is no earthy possession and no human being that is worth forsaking the grace that comes from the Lord Jesus Christ. So having come to that understanding, regardless of what the Lord asks of me, I will do it, I will do it with a song of thanksgiving. No matter the sacrifice, no matter my opinion and most of all regardless of my level of personal comfort, I will sacrifice it all to the Lord Jesus Christ. Is that not what being a follow really means? The next statement “what I have vowed I will make good” is one that really hits home to me. I am just pondering these 8 words for a while… just letting them sink in…More later… I have to ponder a few things…

Leave a Reply

