The difference between 10 and 25…

There is something about being sick that makes one want to return to their childhood home and have mom take care of them all day. Being sick at the age of 10 was much different than being sick at the age of 25. You see at 10, you get to skip school, lay on the couch, watch cool cartoons and have mom fix you Mac&Cheese all day. You don’t have a care in the world, most of the day you feel better by the time your friends are getting home from school so you might even get a chance to run out and play with them. Your school work will wait for you, and sometimes you won’t even have to make it up. You can return to school the hero, because you got to stay home.  

However, when you are 25 and sick, life is a little different. Rather than your mom making Mac&Cheese, you settle for the microwavable chicken noodle soup and a few crackers. You sleep all day because the only TV shows that apply to your age group are soup opera’s and stupid talk shows about sisters sleeping with brothers and mothers sleeping with their daughter’s boyfriends. You now have to call your boss and explain to them that you really are sick and you are not referring to the brown bottle flu, you have to take time off, even if that means you are not getting paid and most of all you know your email will be flooded upon your return. So relaxation is totally out of the question.  

Well, I have been sick for the past 3 days. I have missed two days of work, and today I return reluctantly. I return with the hopes of being sent home, but I know that I have to return because if I don’t I won’t get paid, and without that paycheck, there is no home to return to. Oh the joys of growing up!

One Response

  1. I would have loved to have taken care of you – my sick little Mare Bear. Wish I could’ve! :):):) I love you tons, Mom

Leave a Reply

