Doing it alone…

So, have you ever taken a trip by yourself when everyone else around you says you needed to take someone with you? Have you ever known that the road you need to travel is one that you need to travel alone? Have you ever had to ask someone you love to walk away while you travel this road?  Well… I have. I am there now. I am on a path that the Lord has taken me upon and I have work to do, work within me, work within my heart, work that I have to do by myself for myself. I am not saying that I am not going to seek outside assistance, but I cannot seek assistance from particular people. Not because I do not love them, not because they do not love me, but because this process has to be between me and the Lord. My heart breaks as I watch these people walk away from me, knowing that the future is uncertain and that their heart is broken. But I have peace about where I am going and what is going to happen in my life. I know the Lord does not send persecution without the promise of blessings in return. I know this road will be hard, I will be hard pressed on every side, but I will not be crushed. I will be perplexed but not in despair, persecuted but not abandoned and I will be struck down and refined but not destroyed. (2nd Corinthians 4: 8-11)One thing I do know for sure… I want to throw off everything that hinders me, the sin that entangles me, I want to run the race that is marked out for me, I want to run with perseverance. My eyes will be fixed upon Jesus, the author and perfector of my faith. He is the one that endured the cross, scorning its shame, He sat down at the right hand before the throne of God. I will remain faithful to Him. I will draw strength from Him, so that I will not grow weary and loose heart during this time of trail.  (Hebrews 12:1-3) Regardless of where this road may lead me, I will remain in love with Jesus, I will love those I have asked to walk away, I will remember those that are dear to me and I will attempt to smile along the way! I have made great progress in understanding what I am to do; now I must do it, regardless of what others might think or say.

So here is to the adventure that is ahead!

Leave a Reply

