I can fight with the best of them…

Isaiah 43:18-19 

 18 “Forget the former things;
       do not dwell on the past. 
 

19 See, I am doing a new thing!
       Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
       I am making a way in the desert
       and streams in the wasteland.

Isaiah 43:2 2

When you pass through the waters,
       I will be with you;
       and when you pass through the rivers,
       they will not sweep over you.
       When you walk through the fire,
       you will not be burned;
       the flames will not set you ablaze.

Many things come to mind with the scriptures mentioned above. First, there is the fact that no matter what life throws at me, my past is just that, the past. It is not something I can change, nor is it something to dwell on. It makes tears fall to think that the Lord does not dwell on the things I have done either. I am honored to be forgiven because of the blood that was shed. Second, I am safe, nothing can harm me. I will not be overcome by the waters of life, I will not be consumed by the flames of my troubles and most of all I will not be alone.   I shared a meal with a dear friend last night. She challenged me way of thinking, she argued with the desires of my heart and most of all she listened to what I had to say. She did not judge, she did not condemn, she loved me and was compassionate with the matters of my heart. However, I must say that she did keep me accountable to the scriptures, she did ask me to fight, she encouraged me to wrestle with the Lord.  You know, I have always been one who was not afraid to fight.

I was a cheerleader in high school and most anyone who knew me knew that I was a Christian. But the day came and this church girl knew how to scarp. I remember that day as if it was yesterday. This girl and I were in the parking lot on the afternoon of our homecoming football game. We got out to the parking lot because the fight started in side. This girl made a comment about my sister and I frankly challenged her. We threw a few punches and then she got nasty. The claws came out and the hair pulling started. Which I would have none of, so I resorted to regular old fist fighting. The fight ended with her blood on my uniform, she face slightly more bloody than mine and she handed broken because it somehow ended up clashing with the brick wall. That day I fought with everything in me. I was not going to back down, nor was I going to fight like a princess.  I meant business, and today, I mean business as well. I want to fight this out, I want to wrestle with the Lord, I want to have those hard conversations because I do not agree with what His word is directing me to do. I want to play hard and fight hard. I am past the point of trying to just do church and figure it out, it is time to crawl into the blazing furnace and meet Him face to face. I might have to wash the blotchy make up off my face, but this is one fight I am willing to fight. I will rest when He says rest, I will listen when He speaks and at the end of the day, I will fight with Him if my heart is not at peace. Today I am fighting, yesterday I rested, and tomorrow, who knows, we will have to wait and see…

Leave a Reply

