Day 4a: Soul Mates

Well, I would like to thank my dear friend Webster for assisting me in this hunt for knowledge. I am a woman on a mission, so today, I want to research more about the word soul mate. I have come across the definition, again thanks to Webster.  Main Entry: soul mate
Function: noun
1 : a person who is perfectly suited to another in temperament
2 : a person who strongly resembles another in attitudes or beliefs
 

So according to the both definitions, I can conclude that a soul mate is a person. Yes that is correct, this is a person who is perfectly suited to another in temperament. So I don’t like big words, and I consider temperament a big word. So I looked it up. Temperament is a noun, and I was surprised to find several different definitions. So I have listed them below…  1 obsolete a : constitution of a substance, body, or organism with respect to the mixture or balance of its elements, qualities, or parts : MAKEUP b : COMPLEXION 1
2 obsolete a : CLIMATE b : TEMPERATURE 2
3 a : the peculiar or distinguishing mental or physical character determined by the relative proportions of the humors according to medieval physiology b : characteristic or habitual inclination or mode of emotional response <a nervous temperament> c : extremely high sensibility; especially : excessive sensitiveness or irritability
4 a : the act or process of tempering or modifying : ADJUSTMENT, COMPROMISE b : middle course : MEAN
5 : the slight modification of acoustically pure intervals in tuning a musical instrument; especially : modification that produces a set of 12 equally spaced tones to the octave
synonym see DISPOSITION
 

Basically, there are a lot of big words amidst the definition of temperament but I was correct in my assumption of what temperament means. It means how an individual is made up, their mental, spiritual and physical characteristics/desires. So a soul mate is one who is perfectly suited for another in terms of mental, spiritual and physical characteristics and desires. Which leads me to the second half of the definition. A soul mate is a person who strong resembles another in attitudes or beliefs. Alrighty then, I am reassured of what I thought I knew, a soul mate is another person’s perfect match.  Biblically, a soul mate would be equally yoked with another as in 2nd Corinthians 6:14-15. ”Do not be yoked together with unbelievers. For what do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness? What harmony is there between Christ and Belial? What does a believer have in common with an unbeliever?”  Now that is easier said than done. We could go into this all day, but for now, I will rest in the fact of a soul mate must have the same beliefs with one another, according to Webster, that would make them perfectly suited to one another. Interesting thought… and I will leave it at that…  

So my thoughts regarding a soul mate… Does everyone have a soul mate? What if they do not end up together, then what? What if they meet up later in life and are both married to other people, then what? I find these topics of discussion rather interesting, why? Because I know people, other than myself who have asked the question, am I in love with my soul mate? So why not talk about it?  It is interesting to me, the issues of love. I was once told that love is a choice, but if it is a choice, then that means we have some say in it right? We have some say in who we love and for how long we love them. We have some say in who we love, but do we have any say in who loves us? Just something to ponder…

Leave a Reply

