And The Thunder Rolls…

Have you ever felt like you were in the midst of a storm and there was no hope for clear weather? Well that is where I have been… that is what the days have felt like. I have felt as if I was caught in the middle of a rain storm and regardless of where I go, the rain seems to follow. Day after day, there is no break in the rain. It is a steady down pour, the rain is cold, the sky is gray and the thunder is deep. There is hope, for the lightening is bright, few and far between the rolls of thunder, but it is still a bright glimmer of hope. Amidst the down pouring of rain and the deep rolls of thunder my heart is at peace. How you might ask… well, because I am trusting in the simple words of my Savior. Jesus said “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” John 8:12. I know that I will walk through the storm, I know it will not consume me, I know that even though it might seem like I am covered in darkness at this moment in time, but the Word says that I will never walk in darkness. It does not say that I will walk through the darkness, or that I will have time periods of darkness, it says that I will NEVER walk in darkness. Never is a strong word. I am breathless as I am reminded of the meaning of the word never. It means, not ever, at no time, not in any degree, not under any condition. The opposite of never is eternally, everlasting, evermore, and repeatedly. I cannot have the light and experience darkness. That is not possible; furthermore it is a promise from my King. Regardless of how cold this rain storm is, how loud the thunder rolls or heavy the rain pours, I cannot be consumed by the darkness. That is a reassuring thought for me. Praises be!

Leave a Reply

